Promit's Ventspace

September 9, 2009

SlimTune Profiler Update

Filed under: SlimTune — Promit @ 5:38 pm

You may have noticed that the profiler’s development is completely frozen. No this isn’t an accident, and no it’s not discontinued or finished. I’ve got so much in store for it. The problem is that when I get into my projects, I get really immersed. Keeping up the pace on SlimTune basically meant SlimDX’s August release would never get done; I’m obsessive like that. So I made a conscious decision to freeze SlimTune until the next SlimDX release was out. (Also classes were starting.) That freeze was only supposed to last two weeks or so.

And if you keep track of what’s happening in the DirectX world, you can guess that I’ve been screwed over pretty solidly on that one. I’m not sure when I’ll actually be able to get moving on SlimDX, so I may as well bring SlimTune back to active development. Initially, I had intended to discontinue the 0.1 release series and step to 0.2, which was going to provide more profiler modes. However I got some good feedback on the 0.1.5 release that I’d like to incorporate a release, so I’ll start by putting out a 0.1.6 that will basically clean up a few bugs and inconveniences in the current release.

As for the 0.2 release series, let’s see what happens. Instrumentation is actually pretty close to ready, so maybe I’ll get that out the door and throw in some other support functionality too. There’s some prototyping happening with regards to support for native code as well, so who knows. Maybe there will be an initial implementation of that available, too. I’ve got a lot more invested in this project than I think anyone realizes. Don’t think I’ve given up.

P.S. Last I heard, the DirectX SDK was going to be released last Friday. So I have no earthly idea what’s going on.
LATE BREAKING NEWS! August 09 DX SDK is out!

2 Comments »

  1. Whatever you’re planning for it, I can’t wait for your next SlimTune release. I have only a limited profiling experience but SlimTune has already superbly helped me in my current project (an RTS game) and will surely do so again. As I said, no matter what new features are coming, I’ll be happy, but if I might make a suggestion, I’d love to have a way to see where most of the allocations are done in my run loop in order to minimize GC pressure.

    Keep up the awesome work!

    Comment by Trillian — October 14, 2009 @ 7:24 pm | Reply

  2. Hey Promit,

    Just wanted to let you know that I found SlimTune today while looking for a profiling solution. I had a piece of software I was working on that ‘massages’ genetic information that was misbehaving (aka – estimating at 4+ weeks to complete its job). Within about 20 minutes of working with SlimTune I had improved the performance of my code to get the processing down to about an hour. I had a few really poorly performing sections, SlimTune helped me find them instantly. Put up a donate button or something. =)

    Comment by Frank — October 19, 2009 @ 11:40 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

