How to Block Ads in IE9

I’m a little surprised that search results don’t turn up more useful information for this. Internet Explorer 9 is frankly a fabulous browser, but many people have traditionally avoided IE because it doesn’t block ads. Well, the new version does — it’s just hidden.

Do not install ANY ad blocking add-in. It isn’t necessary. IE has a facility called Tracking Protection Lists that will do the job. You just need the right setting…

From IE9, visit Privacy Choice, who maintain block lists. Click either giant button, and Internet Explorer will offer to install it. That’s all you need to do. Most ads will now be blocked.

The downside is that, as far as I can tell, you can’t really configure this with custom filters like Firefox’s popular AdBlock Plus extension. Google Chrome’s available extensions offer custom filters but they don’t work correctly. Still, this does clean up nearly everything you’re likely to encounter in most browsing.

18 thoughts on “How to Block Ads in IE9

  1. Good tip – but the other thing it doesn’t do is collapse the frames that the ads woukd have been in, like FireFox does, so there are huge white spaces in your web pages.

  2. Thank you so much, I’m forced to use IE at work (I admit a bit of a bias against it!) and the audio ads on Pandora were driving me crazy. This seems to be doing the trick nicely!

  3. Thank you SO MUCH. Our computer 4 yrs old. Our computer guy who we pay lots of money each time he visits said we need a new computer because it just can’t keep up. WRONG! (I’ve already done the top 5 basics + some extras to get it to run fast.) The paragraph above: “From IE9, visit Privacy Choice, who maintain block lists. Click either giant button, and Internet Explorer will offer to install it. That’s all you need to do. Most ads will now be blocked.” worked BEAUTIFULLY! Thanks, you made our life a lot easier! If it weren’t for people like you people like me would be spending money we don’t have to get a new computer we don’t need. THANK YOU!

  4. Wow, wish I’d searched for this months ago! Whole web experience is so much quicker now, and presumably I’m saving large amounts of data (on a PAYG dongle here).
    Thank you very much.

  5. Have you ever thought about publishing an e-book or guest authoring
    on other sites? I have a blog based upon on the same topics you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my audience would enjoy your work. If you are even remotely interested,
    feel free to send me an e mail.

  6. Awesome! I’m stuck with tethering mobile phone to PC so bandwidth is always an issue. I used to run ie7pro but couldn’t find anything to work on ie9…. Many thanks!!! ;-]

  7. I am impressed with how well privacychoice works!

    I like IE9 and I am not that impressed with Ffox so I had been doing some research. Unfortunately, Microsoft does not really have anything that I could find in their help menu that works easily to blocks ads. I was leery at first about trying Privacychoice.org because there are so many scams out there. However, I was also getting very tired of receiving tons of ads showing up and slowing down my browser. I was actually surprised how well privacychoice worked. My browser is much faster and I don’t have to see all the crappy ads. Thanks for sharing the information.

    I just don’t understand why Microsoft can’t build in a filter like this one. I think it would be a hit!

    Thanks – Tom

Leave a comment